Spinning and Objectivity

IF someone asked me the difference between a journalist and a Public Relations (PR) writer like myself (both using a mainstream platform in dissemination of content they produce) - I could say one is expected to be objective, and that one is not me.

Objectivity is the cornerstone of modern Aday journalism; a significant principle of its Professionalism. Journalistic objectivity in a story refers to fairness, disinterestedness, factuality, and non-partisanship, and most often encompasses all of these qualities.

On the other hand, a PR writer is supposed to be into spin - the one who gives that twist to stories - and have a more subjective approach, sometimes known as advocacy writing.

I was not always a PR writer; for a very good part of my life I was a mainstream journalist. During my time as a mainstream journalist, I often wondered how objective one could get. Meaning, to what extent could I take the disinterestedness and non-partisanship in this very social world that we live in? There were times when I did not use my vote at an election fearing that it would be a partisan act for a journalist (a bit over the top I think, in hindsight). What is this 'objectivity' that journalists need to seek? After years of being on the frontline of the fact and truth business, I realised that it's perhaps the striving and not really the goal that really matters.