He was An Enigma And A Contradiction…

I worked for the Sunday Leader over 15 years ago as a Deputy Editor under its very famous Editor Lasantha Wickrematunge, who was a dear friend from my days back in the Dawasa group (1981), where I was a journalist for the SUN and WEEKEND newspapers. Lasantha and his wife(to be), worked under Sinha Ratnatunga who was the Editor of the WEEKEND newspaper. When Lasantha started the Sunday Leader with his wife Raine they invited me to join them and after some years I eventually did.

From the time I got to know LW till his life ended so abruptly he and I had a special closeness and even though months may go by without us being in contact just a phone call could rekindle our friendship and we would be there for each other in times of need. Although I have to mention that he more than me was the friend in need. The day he died was a very sad day for me but it was not entirely surprising as I had told him many times in the years before he passed away that he was leading a very dangerous life.